Running back Reuben Droughns is participating in spring practices (OTA) and will be with the Browns during their full-team minicamp later this month while police and prosecutors in Colorado continue their investigation into a domestic violence charge against him.
Complete details on the May 12 incident in the Denver suburb of Centennial are sketchy, but according to the sheriff's report Droughns threw his wife out the door of their home when she asked for a divorce. She allegedly hurt her arm on the door frame as Droughns was removing her from the home.
Kellie Droughns, the wife of the Browns 27-year-old starter, is trying to get the charges dropped, according to various reports. The couple is back together.
"The police conducted their investigation and failed to interview a key witness who was on the premises," said Harvey Steinberg, Droughns' attorney.. "They did not conduct a thorough investigation. We believe Mr. Droughns will be exonerated. In Colorado, the police could file charges if the victim does not want to file charges."
Droughns apologized to Coach Romeo Crennel and General Manager Phil Savage. In November, Droughns apologized for being arrested for driving erratically and speeding after attending a Halloween party. He blew .08 on a Breathalyzer, the legal limit in Ohio.
Three days before the incident in Colorado a Medina, Ohio, jury found him not guilty of any alcohol-related driving charge. The speeding charge had already been dropped by prosecutors.
About two months before he was acquitted, the Browns gave Droughns a contract extension through 2009 as a reward for him rushing for 1,232 yards last season.
"Anytime a player has an issue off the field you're concerned about it," Savage said. "We extended Reuben this spring, and with that comes more responsibility.
"He's expressed sorrow to us about (the domestic violence). It's something we'll monitor over the next few months. We certainly don't want it to happen again."
Droughns could face an NFL-imposed suspension if he is convicted. He is charged with two counts of harassment and one count of assault. All three charges are misdemeanors. Each harassment charge carries a penalty of up to six months in jail. The assault charge carries a penalty of six months to 18 months in jail.